Object of so many different restoration and enlargement interventions, also the Church of San Paolo – as well as all the other ancient churches of Tasso’s town – appears in a different way from the aspect which characterized it in the origins.
The façade of the holy building which lies in the heart of the old town centre, for example, was made all over again in 1725 as testified by the intense activity of transformation it underwent in the course of the18th century.
Inside the same holy building, in fact, we can still appreciate a delightful majolica floor, made in the 18th century by Neapolitan artists and characterized by the presence of animals, leaves and flowers.
Moreover, almost all the paintings on show go back to the same period. The church was built on a Latin plan and, at the height of the hemicycle, it boasts the presence of a wonderful and elegant dome tiled with brightly coloured majolica. Inside the same dome, instead, we can admire two statues of Saint Benedict and Saint Scolastica.
Under the iconographical point of view, the paintings present in the Christian temple are affected by the closeness of one of the most ancient Benedictine monasteries in the Sorrento Coast.
Besides an eighteenth-century painting representing Saint Paul’s Conversion, in fact, in the presbytery we can appreciate a portrait of Saint Benedict showing the holy rule of the order to his followers, Placido and Mauro, in the presence of Saint Scolastica (made in 1729) and the representation of the Assumption of the Madonna in Heaven (made in 1736).
Right because annexed to the homonymous convent, the Church of San Paolo keeps still today - along the nave – a great quantity of precious tribunes, of elegant and private chapels beside refined choir stalls made in wood in deference to the baroque style and, so, made unique because made by recurring to very fine carvings and very precious gildings.
Particularly suggestive, finally, are four small chapels characterized by their functionality. In fact, they have entrances, on the right, to the monastery, and, on the left, to the sacristy.
Il meraviglioso scenario del Chiostro di S. Francesco schiude nuovamente le... Continue
PROGRAMMA DI CONFERENZA A CURA DELL' ISTITUTO CULTURALE TORQUATO TASSO Continue
It will be inaugurated Saturday, November 7, at 18, at the museum Correale,... Continue
Roberto De Simone and Alessandra D'Antonio guests to "Sorrento ... Again"On... Continue
They started the restoration of two fountains located in the historical cen... Continue
Completed the restoration of the fountain called the Schizzariello. Another... Continue
A walk through Sorrento, with its sounds, colors, flavors and moods. Continue
The opening of the Gate of Parsano actually allowed the development of Sorr... Continue
Would you like to receive our exclusive special offers or to be updated regularly on news and events? Register for our free newsletter!SUBSCRIBE
Firmato - 29/05/2018
Tutto non è solo quel che sembra ma, molto altro.
Parte il progetto “Sos: Sosteniamo l’Ospedale di Sorrento” che mira a recuperare le facciate del presidio ospedaliero di Sorrento ...Continue »